top of page
  • Foto del escritorMARLENE ADRIANA RAMIREZ TOVAR

[Vocabulary] Activity 1



Vocabulary words


1. ADD UP

If facts or events do not add up, they make you confused about a situation because they do not seem to be consistent. If something that someone has said or done adds up, it is reasonable and sensible.

2. ALL AT ONCE

If something happens all at once, it happens suddenly, often when you are not expecting it to happen.

3. AT THE DROP OF A HAT

If you say that you are ready to do something at the drop of a hat, you mean that you are willing to do it immediately, without hesitating.

4. RUSTY

Not as good at knowing or doing something as you once were, because you have not practiced it in a long time.

5. BIT OFF MORE THAN YOU COULD CHEW

If you say that someone has bitten off more than they can chew, you mean that they are trying to do something too difficult for them.

6. BREAK THE ICE

If you break the ice at a party or meeting, or in a new situation, you say or do something to make people feel relaxed and comfortable.

7. BOUND TO

Be bound to is a phrase that means something is certain to happen or is destined to be true, as in There are bound to be useful books at the library. Be bound to can also mean someone is determined to do something.

8. A BREEZE

With little or no effort; easily.

9. BROKEN THE NEWS

To reveal information, often that which is bad or upsetting. To tell someone some important news, usually bad news

10. BY HEART

If you know something such as a poem by heart, you have learned it so well that you can remember it without having to read it.



Questions and answers


1. If a conclusion doesn't ADD UP, how do you figure it out?

We can know it because some ideas remain without structure or meaning. Like, what would the writer want to say?.

2. What's an event that happened ALL AT ONCE?

It's an event in which some or a lot of actions occur at the same time and produce a consequence.

3. What's an activity that you could do AT THE DROP OF A HAT?

If I was invited to join a professional ballet, I would say yes at the drop of a hat because who would say no?

4. What's a skill you are RUSTY in?

I think that when speaking in a classroom or before the face-to-face public, it is an activity that with the confinement I have been forgetting and I feel RUSTY in that.

5. When was a time when you BIT OFF MORE THAN YOU COULD CHEW?

A time when I bit off more than I could chew was when I tried doing some difficult math problems. I thought that they were easy but they weren’t.

6. What's a great way to BREAK THE ICE with people of your generation?

I think that a great way to break the ice would be to introduce people of my generation to new trending topics that are important nowadays.

7. What is BOUND TO happen this semester?

We are bound to prepare for the Toefl test.

8. What skill is A BREEZE for you?

Drawing is a breeze for me.

9. Have you ever BROKEN THE NEWS to someone? What happened?

I have broken the news to my parents that I going to around the world and they told me to have a good trip

10. What's an example of something you know BY HEART?

I know my address by heart.



3 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo

Comments


Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page